Kirkroyds Lane, New Mill, HD9 1LS
01484 955820

In line with the Government’s Early Years Foundation Stage documentation, we plan and deliver the seven areas of the Early Years Curriculum through a carefully organised learning environment which aims to meet the needs of the unique child and build positive relationships between the school, the children and their families.

This environment is designed to enable young children to become independent learners who are able to access all the resources they need to develop a full range of personal and educational knowledge and skills.

The environment includes both excellent indoor and outdoor provision as well as a highly skilled team of professionals who have a clear understanding of early childhood development and the way young children learn best.


Within the ‘Foundation Curriculum’ there are seven areas of learning and development;

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 
  • Communication and Language 
  • Literacy 
  • Mathematical Development 
  • Understanding the World 
  • Physical Development 
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We aim for the children to have achieved the 7 areas of learning before they leave Reception and move on to Key Stage 1. 

Click here to find out more information about the 7 areas of learning.

Click here for our Early Years Intent document